Council Leadership

About Us

Our Mission | Staff | Leadership | Scouting Program | Offices | Contact Us
Districts | Big Bend | Chaparral | Comanche Trails | Lone Star | Scoutreach

Download the 2014 Board Roster (PDF format)

Secure Board Login

2014 Executive Committee

 Position Name
 Assist. Treasurer (Ad hoc) David Baker
 VP Development Pat Canty
 Presidents Council Steve Castle
 Corporate Secretary David Chapman
 VP Programs Bob Ferguson
 Presidents Council Neil Florer
 VP Governance Frank Stowers
 Presidents Council John Hood
 Council President Charles House
 Presidents Council Sam Howell, II
 Youth Member Ethan Isola
 Presidents Council Bill Kent
 Presidents Council Jack Ladd
 Treasurer &VP Finance Paul Lucas
 Presidents Council Ken Peeler
 Presidents Council Kyle Peeler
 Presidents Council Mark Philpy
 Presidents Council James Riggen
 VP Membership/Relationships
 VP & Immediate Past President Deana Savage, Ed.D.
 Presidents Council John Scott
 Presidents Council Ladd Smith
 Presidents Council Charles Smith
 Presidents Council Charles Spence
 VP Properties Ralph Truszkowski, P.E.
 Council Commissioner/1st VP Byron Welch
 Presidents Council Kyle Womack
 VP District Operations Gary Wood


Charles House, Council President

Charles House, Council President

Charles House
Council President

Charles House grew up in Midland, and has been an Independent Petroleum Landman since 1976. He is the owner of Permian Basin Land Associates, Inc., and Casa Grande Royalty Company, Inc. He has been a member of both the Permian Basin Landmen’s Association (PBLA) and the American Association of Professional Landmen (AAPL) since 1976, and has been a Certified Professional Landman, since 1986. He has served as Director, Treasurer, 1st V-p and President of the PBLA and currently serves as a Director of the AAPL, serving the Permian Basin, Region V.

As a youth, he attended Philmont Scout Ranch, Charles L. Sommers Wilderness Canoe Base, the 13th World Jamboree, and earned the rank of Eagle in 1973. As an adult, he has served as Scoutmaster of Troop 233 and Assistant Scoutmaster of Troop 51, both in Midland. He served as an Assistant Scoutmaster at the 2001 National Jamboree; on Sub-camp Staff at the 2005 National Jamboree; and, as Scoutmaster at the 2010 National Jamboree. Has previously served as Chaparral District Committee Chairman and as Vice-president of Buffalo Trail Council. Was awarded the District Award of Merit in 2003 and the Silver Beaver in 2009. He earned his Woodbadge Beads in 2003 and subsequently served on Staff of WB 705 and WB 839.

He is a life member of the University of Texas, Ex-students Association, Alpha Phi Omega, National Service Fraternity (APO) and the National Eagle Scout Association (NESA).

He has been married to Ellen for 35 years, is the father of Jeff (Eagle Scout) and James.

Byron Welch, Council Commissioner/1st VP

Byron Welch, Council Commissioner/1st VP

Byron Welch
Council Commissioner/1st VP

Byron Welch is the Council Commissioner for the Buffalo Trail Council. Byron and his wife Carolyn live in Pecos, TX. Byron is an Eagle Scout and the recipient of the Silver Beaver and the Vigil Honor in the Order of the Arrow. He became a Cub Scout in 1965 and has been experienced the gamut of Scouting programs and positions as a youth and adult in several councils across Texas.

Byron is a retired educator who earned bachelor, masters and doctorate degrees from Texas A&M University, and has been a teacher, principal, superintendent and university graduate program director. Currently, Byron is a researcher and writer in the field of educational leadership.

Byron’s father has been a Scout since the early 1940’s and his son Byron III is an Eagle Scout living in Austin.