Distinguished Citizen Dinner 2019

Donate | FOS | Popcorn Special Events | Endowment
Unit Finance| Gold Star LevelReasons for Scouting

Congratulations to Jay Isaacs, President of First Capital Bank, who has been selected to be the 2019 Distinguished Citizen of the Permian Basin!

The Distinguished Citizen’s Dinner (DCD) may be the closest you’ll get to a black tie event in the Permian Basin. This year’s event will take place beginning with a reception at 6:30pm on Thursday, August 29th at the Midland Petroleum Club.

The dinner is a time-honored tradition of honoring the best and brightest from West Texas. Those with proven track records of leadership, community involvement, and the embodiment of the Scout Oath and Scout Law are the ones chosen to receive what is arguably Scouting’s highest civilian award in the state of Texas.

To RSVP or sponsor, contact Nathan Kramer at Nathan.Kramer@Scouting.org. Please submit the card and your payment to Buffalo Trail Council, BSA (1101 W. Texas Ave., Midland, TX 79701) at your earliest convenience to reserve your table.

DCD 2013 Honorees & Notables sm

2013 Honoree, Jim Henry poses with his family, Mason LeGrue of Key Energy, Charles House, Jack and Don Wood, and David Chapman, Buffalo Trail Council, BSA

Previous honorees include the likes of Governor Greg Abbott, Frank Cowden, Jr., Representative Tom Craddick, Clayton and Modesta Williams, Helen Greathouse, Governor George W. and Laura Bush, Governor Rick Perry, Gen. Tommy Franks, Barry Williamson (Texas Railroad Commissioner), Don Evans (former US Secretary of Commerce), Ed Magruder, Jr., Jim Henry, and many other great leaders. For a full list of honorees, click here: HONOREES.

The purpose of the event is to:

  1. Recognize those who demonstrate the ideals of Scouting in their daily lives as leaders of our community, state, or nation.
  2. Raise awareness for the good Scouting does for our community by working through generations of youth.
  3. Raise funds critical to sustaining programs that have positive, lifelong impact upon every individual who participates in them.



2018’s Honoree was Norbert Dickman.

For more information about how you can become a sponsor or take part in the event, contact Nathan Kramer, Development Director at (432) 570-7601 or Nathan.kramer@scouting.org